George Takei: The Man, the Myth, the Legend and My New Hero

Takei-Racist-998x665

The man himself, Mr. George Takei offering the familiar Vulcan salute.

In the last few months I have added another person to my hero list. This person is not a renowned professional sportsperson or musician (apart from his Secret Talent of the Stars performance). This person is an actor, and advocate for marriage equality and gay rights. He is of course George Takei.

There are many celebrities who I would like to invite over for dinner for many different reasons. These include Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, Prof. Alice Roberts, David Mitchell, the late Jeremy Brett, Leonard Nimoy, Melissa Rauch, Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney and probably a hundred others. George Takei has now surged up the list and is easily in the top ten. I believe he would be a hoot to talk to and a charming dinner guest.

Like most people I first saw George as helmsman Hikaru Sulu of the USS Enterprise in the original series of Star Trek. Naturally I didn’t pay much attention to him because I was always interested in the adventures of Kirk, Spock and McCoy. Like most Trekkie fans I was however pleased to see Sulu get his captaincy in Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country.

98f36472a588c50526d785cdd89c7261

George Takei as USS Enterprise helmsman Hikaru Sulu in the original series of Star Trek.

A few months ago I decided to ‘Like’ George Takei’s Facebook page as I saw several posts that a fellow school chum and sci-fi geek had shared on his own Facebook page. I was so impressed by George’s sense of humour that I clicked ‘Like’.

I admire George’s ability to laugh at himself while still promoting his beliefs and lifestyle in a way that isn’t over the top or arrogant, and I believe this gives him credibility. When faced with abuse his intelligence and wit shines through, and leaves the abuser feeling incredibly stupid and no doubt wanting to crawl under a rock.

I also follow George on twitter and came across this:

george-takei-responds-to-traditional-marriage-fans

To me it is sad and distressing that even in the 21st century gay rights is still an issue. I appreciate that people are entitled to their own opinions but when people quote religious texts as a way to attack the gay community I find myself ambivalent towards their objections. I don’t know whether to laugh at them or get angry at the anti-gay protestors.

After reading the above article my blood began to boil and I felt it necessary to point out a few home truths to these religious dimwits. After all if people are going to throw religion at gay people saying “It is against God’s will”, Leviticus 18:22 is the usual quotation here, where he states that “You shall not lie with a male as with a woman. It is an abomination”,  I suggest these people read the entire Bible and ensure they are living true to the word of all aspects of the Bible. Consistency is everything after all. (All passages take from The New King James Version)

Leviticus 19:27 “Ye shall shave around the sides of your head, nor shall you disfigure the edges of your beard.” So we are not allowed to trim our beards? Ooops…can someone tell me how or why this is important?

Leviticus 19:19 “Nor shall a garment of mixed linen and wool come upon you” Hmmm better take a look in your wardrobe…again why this this important?

And what about good old fashioned sexism:

Timothy 2:12 “And I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man, but to be in silence.”

Ephesians 5:22 “Wives, submit to your own husbands as to the Lord.”

I’m sure women everywhere will have something to say about that. I could go on but I urge you to read the bible yourself if you are interested in learning more.

And what did Jesus say of homosexuality? Well, some argue that he merely argued against the sexually immoral but doesn’t state what “sexually immoral” means. Sex out of wed lock? or homosexuality?

The Bible even condones slavery Peter 2:18, “Slaves, submit yourselves to your masters with all respect, not only to the good and gentle but also to the cruel.”

There are no doubt hundreds of other quotes that can be taken from religious writings and waved in the faces of Christians, Jews, Muslims etc. who are anti-gay rights (Having not studied the Quran or Torah I can’t comment on those).

For the record not all religious people are anti-gay rights. I have met many liberal minded Christians who openly accept gay rights. I have met, and am friends with, several religious people who are gay and am pleased to say that they have been accepted without prejudice into their respective churches.

But enough Bible bashing, let me get back to the original reason for this post. Which is praising the man who has become a social media phenomenon.

George, you are an inspiration to us all and have now become one my heroes and I sincerely wish you happiness for the future and fully support your advocacy of gay rights.

*Accessed on 17th May 2013

Leave a Reply

